Galaxy Press First Time Attendee for Salt Lake City Comic Con

Galaxy Press First Time Attendee for Salt Lake City Comic Con

The Salt Lake City Comic Con is rapidly becoming one of the most successful Comic Cons in the United States

Salt Lake City also has the distinct honor of having more winners of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest than any other city in the world including Scott Parkin, Amy Hughes, Eric James Stone, Brad Torgersen and Robert J.Defendi.  World renowned authors, initially hailing from the Salt Lake City, Orson Scott Card, Dave Wolverton (Contest winner turned Contest judge) and Brandon Sanderson are Writers of the Future Contest judges.

With Galaxy Press’ premier attendance at the convention, it was no wonder awareness of and demand for Writers of the Future was so high.  Multiple NYT bestselling author Dave Wolverton along with fellow NYT bestselling authors R.A. Salvatore and Jim Butcher were guest speakers on a panel on writing short stories and novels before a packed hall of over 600 attendees.  Wolverton advised aspiring writers to “enter the Writers of the Future contest” and “to enter by September 30, the end of the Contest quarter.”

The Writers of the Future writing contest ( was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988.

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful.  The 368 past winners of the Writing Contest have published 838 novels and nearly 4,000 short stories. They have produced 27 New York Times bestsellers and their works have sold over 50 million copies.

The 298 past winners of the Illustrating Contest have produced over 4,500 illustrations, 356 comic books, graced 594 books and albums with their art and visually contributed to 36 TV shows and 46 major movies.

Deadline for entries for the 32nd year of Writers of the Future and Illustrators of the Future is September 30 at midnight, Pacific Time.  Enter by going to

For more information on Writers of the Future, visit and

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *