L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award Winner: Matthew Candelaria
L. Ron Hubbard Golden Brush Award Winner: Mike Lawrence


First Quarter

  1. “Trust Is a Child” by Matthew Candelaria
  2. “A Few Days North of Vienna” by Brandon Butler
  3. “Blood and Horses” by Myke Cole

Second Quarter

  1. “Walking Rain” by Ian Keane
  2. “Numbers” by Joel Best
  3. “A Silky Touch to No Man” by Robert J Defendi

Third Quarter

  1. “A Boy and His Bicycle” by Carl Frederick
  2. “Bury My Heart at the Garrick” by Steven Savile
  3. “From All the Work Which He Had Made …” by Michael Churchman

Fourth Quarter

  1. “Into the Gardens of Sweet Night” by Jay Lake
  2. “Beautiful Singer” by Steve Bein
  3. “Dark Harvest” by Geoffrey Girard

Published Finalists

“A Ship That Bends” by Luc Reid

“Gossamer” by Ken Liu


Jared Barber

Adrian Barbu

Staci Goddard

Vance Kelly

Asuka Komai

Mike Lawrence


Britt Spencer

Nina Ollikainen

Youa Vang

Daniel Willis

Writer Winners
Complete List

Writers of the Future Contest Winner

Illustrator Winners
Complete List

Illustrators of the Future Contest Winner